MACKINAW TOWNSHIP SPECIAL BOARD MEETING 10595 WALLICK RD, MACKINAW CITY, MI JANUARY 22, 2020

Supervisor Smydra called the Mackinaw/WaWatam Townships joint meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

All Mackinaw Township Board members present: Brew, Closs, Falor, Munns, Smydra.

Also present: Attorney Tim MacArthur, Thomas Miller and WaWatam Township Board members Michelle Karll, Roger Moore, Roy Cole, Elaine Desy and Robert Desy.

Motion by Brew, supported by Closs to approve the Agenda as presented. Motion carried.

No public comments

The Intergovernmental Fire Protection Agreement between Mackinaw Township, WaWatam Township and the Village of Mackinaw City is up for renewal.

The following changes were discussed for the new agreement:

- 2021-2026, a 6-year contract to coincide with elections
- Wordage to read, "a levy of <u>up to</u> .5 mills of taxable value annually or <u>any portion thereof</u>"
- Mackinaw and WaWatam townships to retain an administrative fee of \$250.
- The Village to use a designated separate Fire Fund for the monies instead of their General Fund
- Set the Advisory Board meeting dates and time in advance, at the beginning of the year

Motion by Falor, supported by Closs to designate Mike Smydra and Chuck Brew to meet with the Village Manager along with two representatives from WaWatam township. Motion carried

Robert Desy and Roger Moore were appointed by the WaWatam Board to be their representatives.

Meeting was adjourned by call of the chair at 8:02 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Maria Munns, Clerk